• BPL
  • CPL
  • PSL
Responsive Ad Area

Match Reports

Match Report: Q1 – MI vs RPS

Dhoni, Sundar help RPS storm into Final after win over MI Rising Pune Supergiant charged into the VIVO IPL 2017 Final after they defeated favourites Mumbai Indians by 20 runs on Tuesday night. In a clash between the top two teams – Qualifier 1 – played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, RPS posted a competitive 162-4 and then restricted the hosts to 142-9. Put in to bat, RPS got off to a dreadful start losing the opener Rahul Tripathi and captain Steven Smith in the first two overs. But courtesy half-centuries from Ajinkya Rahane and Manoj Tiwary, and a signature MS Dhoni flourish right at the end, RPS finished at 162-4. After the early setbacks, Rahane and Tiwary ensured there were no more casualties immediately and took RPS to 33-2 at the end of six overs; it was RPS’ lowest powerplay sc...

Match Report: Eliminator – SRH vs KKR

KKR send defending champions SRH packing in rain-affected match The Kolkata Knight Riders took a step closer to the VIVO IPL 2017 Finals after they defeated defending champions Sunrisers Hyderabad by seven wickets in a rain-affected Eliminator which was played in Bengaluru. After winning the toss, KKR bowled and fielded extremely well to restrict SRH to 128-7. The skies opened up in the dying stages of SRH innings and reduced the run-chase to a six-over affair, with KKR needing to get 48.After a slippery start – when KKR lost three wickets in the first seven balls of the chase –Gambhirtook control of the chase and saw the team past the finish line. KKR were brilliant at the start of the match and did not give anything away early in the contest. Gambhir was brilliant with his field placemen...

Match Report: Q2 – MI vs KKR

The Mumbai Indians stormed their way to the VIVO IPL 2017 Final after they defeated the Kolkata Knight Riders by six wickets in Qualifier 2 on Friday night. After opting to bowl, the MI bowlers destroyed their opponents, bundling them out for 107, after which their batsmen chased down the runs in 14.3 overs. Karn Sharma was the destroyer-in-chief for MI, while Krunal Pandya’s performance stood out in the run-chase. MI reaped the rewards for being aggressive at the start of the match. Mitchell Johnson, playing in place of the injured Mitchell McClenaghan, bowled a fiery first over and conceded only three runs. Jasprit Bumrah benefitted from the pressure built at the other end as Chris Lynn holed out to long-on in the second over. The other opener – Sunil Narine, and Gautam Gambhir struggled...

Match Report : Final – RPS vs MI

The Mumbai Indians were on Sunday night crowned VIVO IPL 2017 Champions. In a match befitting of a tournament finale, MI won their third IPL title after they defeated Rising Pune Supergiant by a solitary run at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad. Despite an underwhelming performance with the bat, and a sloppy performance in the field, the MI bowlers applied the squeeze on their opponents, eventually leading their team to a 1-run win. After scoring a below-par 129-8, MI restricted RPS to 128-6. RPS will believe they let the trophy slip from their clutches. They needed 23 runs from the final two overs of the run-chase, which came down to 7 from 5 balls. But Manoj Tiwary attempted the glory shot and picked out long-on, and when Steve Smith picked out the lone man patr...